In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and give your own opinion

In today’s progressive world, the permanent development of technologies has made a significant contribution to healthcare services and medicine. These have already affected people’s lives, making their lifespan more expanded compared with the past. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of this trend and highlight that drawbacks such as pressure on the economic situation, lack of working places, and worse healthcare and welfare services outweigh the advantages.

One obvious negative effect that increased life expectancy has on our society is economic challenges such as a rise in the government’s spending on pension funds. Consequently, this issue is going to cause the need for higher taxes for usual workers, which puts a strain on life-work balance and does not foster employers to work harder for fulfilling the needs of the aging community. In addition, the amount of free working places for the young generation, who are more likely to succeed in a career and contribute to the company’s life, will tend to reduce consistently.

Another visible disadvantage is a lowered quality of healthcare services, especially for retired people. The more medical help seekers there are, the more challenging it will be to maintain and provide necessary help and support. Because of this, hospitals will be overcrowded with patients and encounter a lack of medicaments and professional doctors, which will not be lucrative for the government.

The main advantage of extended life expectancy is a wide variety of opportunities for people. They are able to pursue their dreams and have a lot of spare time for self-development by gaining or improving new skills or sharing their life experience. For instance, nowadays, more and more stories about retired people who fulfilled their dreams such as parachute jumping or mountain hiking appear. Moreover, living longer is a great chance to spend more time with family and distant relatives, experiencing unforgettable moments.

In conclusion, while extended life expectancy has some noticeable positives, the negatives such as economic burden, instability of job prospects, and pressure on the healthcare system outweigh and should be considered by the authorities to prevent global issues. This program can be done by implementing sufficient regulations and laws for the community.