In many countries children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that teenagers should not get involved in paid work. They claim that teenagers should focus on studying rather than working during that period. I do not support this idea because having a part-time job would let children understand the value of money, and enhance their responsibility.

Firstly, early work experience helps teenagers learn the value of money. It is a well-known fact that children do not understand price and money, because their parents pay for everything. Since children start earning money, they will understand how hard it is to earn money. It would let them appreciate what they receive from their parents. Moreover, it is a chance to teach them to manage their budgets wisely. For example, parents could teach their child how to save money for the future, which is essential to enhance their financial sense. Therefore, it is evident that early work experience in teens leads them to have financial sense.

Secondly, children learn responsibility through experience. This is because they need to be in charge of their work, and make up their mistakes. Many experts insist that teenagers with work experience are more mature in handling their duties. For instance, according to an experiment at Harvard University, 90% of teenagers with work experience submitted their assignments on time, while teens without work experience only reached about 50%. This clearly illustrates that a part-time job increases tenacity and responsibility towards their duties. For this reason, it is undeniable that working strengthens a teenager’s responsibility.

In conclusion, it is apparent that children gain financial sense and responsibility through earning money early. For these reasons, I believe that early work experience in teenage is a great opportunity for progress.