In many countries, children are given more freedom than in the past. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is observed that children in many regions of the world these days have been given more autonomy than they used to be. From my perspective, this phenomenon may bring numerous benefits to this demographic despite some concerns regarding being out of track.

Granted, giving children freedom in every aspect of their lives may help them to develop to the fullest. This can be illustrated clearly in Western countries where juniors are allowed to participate in various activities, as long as they are interested in. As a result, they are likely to explore their true passion and build their confidence simultaneously. Additionally, allowing them to make decision by themselves may force them to consider many aspects before finalizing their choice. This may help fostering their critical thinking skills, along with boosting their sense of responsibility and independence.

Notwithstanding the mentioned advantages, granting children excessive freedom may lead to severe consequences, which are detrimental to their whole lives. When being empowered to do whatever they want, children are likely to be exposed to harmful influences, such as drugs or crime, which are omnipresent on the internet nowadays. However, this issue can be addressed effectively with parental supervision and guidance. As children are too young to recognize potential risks they may face, the freedom given should be limited. Besides, another concern against this view is that children may make wrong decisions, leading to failures. Nevertheless, failures are stepping-stones to help people become more successful in the future. Therefore, giving them more autonomy is equivalent to providing them chances to learn, gain experience, and make progress in the long run.

In conclusion, although increased freedom for children may engender some risks, it is still beneficial to them as it enhances their self-development. It is my belief that with proper guidance from adults, the merits gained outweigh its drawbacks.