In many countries, it is mandatory for school children to wear uniforms. Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Wearing a uniform is mandatory for school children in numerous countries. This essay will argue that the benefits of it outweigh its unsupported drawbacks. This essay will first highlight that the inability to skip school without permission of their parents and learning disciple are the two biggest benefits of wearing school dress. Subsequently, it will analyze the possible drawback and demonstrate its invalidity.

The predominant advantages of wearing a school uniform is that children will be unable to skip school and they will learn discipline. After wearing school uniform, children stand out from casual clothing wearing people and if they try to skip school, they will attract special attention from people around them. This will realize them that they have done something wrong. Consequently, they will avoid such situations and prefer to attend school instead. Furthermore, wearing a uniform requires extra time, which mandates children to get up early. This routine of getting up early and getting properly dressed for school, will teach them disciple which they will utilize throughout their whole life.

Those who take a contrary stance to the aforementioned viewpoint assert that wearing a uniform is stressful for children, the principal reason being the extra time required for them to wear school uniform. However, this assertion lacks the empirical evidence. For instance, a survey conduced in South Korean schools who have mandated their children to wear school uniform failed to identify any stress experienced by them due to wearing uniform.

In conclusion, wearing a school uniform is beneficial for children as it diminishes the likelihood that school children will skip their school without having an clue to their parents and it teaches them discipline. These benefits overshadow the possible unsupported concern which is stress faced by children.