In many countries, paying for things using mobile phones (cellphone) apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

Using cellphone apps to make purchases are becoming common throughout many countries, but the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. Even though I is convenient, the app requires a WIFI connection to work and there is a possibility of hackers getting customers’ personal information.

The first disadvantage of using mobile apps is that is useless without a WIFI connection. This is the case for the majority of app as they need to be linked to the server to obtain the necessary data to operate and in this case, to do cash transactions. Some people get around this issue by having a data plan, but, the majority of those who do not have access do not even bother to download the app thus negating the usefulness of it. For example, the Easy Money app was intended to introduce the cashless method in Trinidad, but the company is considering pulling it because not many people are downloading it due to lack of WIFI access.

The second disadvantage is the probability of personal data being exposed is high. When creating an account for these cash apps, people must submit certain details including name, address and card information. Companies will promise safety to their customers but there are people who refuse to download it die to a fear of being hacked. For example, even though Apple Pay ensures customer data security by following the necessary standards, they underwent a cyber attack where their customers’ credit card information was released.

In conclusion, there are more drawbacks than benefits to using mobile cash apps even though it is becoming more popular in many countries. This is because the apps are not operational without WIFI and it can potentially be hacked.