In many countries, paying for things using mobile phones (cellphone) apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

In this fast-paced world, people are changing their way of paying for their expenses using mobile phones applications, replacing cash and physical cards. Some people think it has more advantages, while others think it has more disadvantages. In this essay, we will discuss how advantages of paying using mobile phones outweighs the disadvantages related to digital payments.

Due to advancements in mobile technology, its becoming easier to pay at a store using mobile applications. Moreover, people are using their smartwatches to pay at local store instead of using their cards or cash; therefore, its getting more convenient for individuals to pay. As per apple technologies, they use the card details and mask it for security purposes while doing payments at the point of sales; therefore, it reduces the risk of cards being skimmed and prevent us from scams or fraud. Hence, the advanced security feature not only enables us to pay more securely but also provide us the convenience to pay easily. Additionally, it helps in keeping records of small purchases which usually get unnoticed. Also, it helps to keep a track of unnecessary expenses and managing finances.

On the other hand, some of individuals are still skeptical of using mobile phones as a way to pay at any store. As per them, it is not safe and secure to put their account or card details, as they may get trapped in fraud if they lose their smart-device. Moreover, technology might not be functional in remote areas where people have connectivity issues. For instance, if some one is going on a bike trip and have to make a stop at gas station where they are unable to accept electronic payment, that person may end up getting troubles. Therefore, its better to keep some cash in their pocket.

In my opinion, using mobile phone applications for paying outdoors have been a great convenience for everyone. Lots of individuals tend to forget their wallet, which put them in an awkward situation of lending some money from friend or request the merchant for sometime to pay. However, people usually don’t forget their phones which makes it simple for them to pay using mobile apps. Moreover, mobile companies are including additional security features to identify the person before the payment; therefore, even if the phone gets stolen payments will still be secured. In this way, advantages for using mobile apps outweighs the disadvantages.