In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Currently, in many countries, many individuals have lived longer than in the past. However, the phenomenon leads some people to think that it will have many drawbacks for the government. At the same time, the rest of us believe that the benefits of having an aging community in our surroundings will be advantageous and outweigh the disadvantages. I would share the same notion as the latter statement, and this essay will discuss the reasons based on my perspective.

To begin with, it is well comprehensible why some people think that having older adults will create burdens for the surroundings. The thought, I firmly believe, comes from the stereotype that aging people will require assistance in a variety of aspects from as many parties as possible. The mentioned aspects are usually regarding some financial and health issues.

On the contrary, having people who have lived longer than the rest of the communities will benefit the upcoming life. Firstly, having many aging people in some countries will increase youngsters’ trust in their governments as it can prove that governments can provide the life the elderly need the most to keep their long lives. In addition, there will likely be some experts in a variety of fields among the elderly. Therefore, some disciplines will not be gone for such a long time as the experts are still alive. Subsequently, with all the life experiences that aging people have, some communities will probably be well-assisted in forecasting their lives ahead. Finally, even with the stereotype that elderly people are financially dependent on some parties, they still have their retirement revenues and savings. Hence, they will still be able to pay their own taxes and contribute to countries’ enhancements. As an illustration, when a civil employee retires, he will still have his income from the government he has worked in. It is well-known that retirement revenue will still cover a person’s financial and health insurance when he/she retires.

In conclusion, having aging people in some regions or countries is still under debate due to some issues that might happen in the future. We as citizens need to look closely and extensively at the occurrence phenomenon as it will benefit our lives and outweigh its shortcomings.