In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the life expectancy level of people is higher than ever before in some countries. Many people believe that old population could lead problems for governments. While, other people say there are advantages if society has more aging people. This essay will discuss about the strength and weakness of having a lot of aging population in a society.

The main reason why it is good to the society if they have a lot of old people is that they can gain more life lessons from the elderly people, old people like to share their stories and from that society may get a life lessons maybe for not having the same mistakes or not making a regret of something. For instance, in my neighborhood we have some old people and every morning they like to eat breakfast together in one house then as a youngster my friend and I like to accompany and listen to their story and they like to tell us about their regret for not making something when they were young, and from their stories I got many motivation. Another benefits is that because they live longer they must be genius about some culture, society can learn from the elderly people. They may understand more than other young people and to not make the culture gone, youngster also must continue it with the knowledge from old people.

Those oppose to this and believe that aging population creates problems. There is no evidence to this but maybe they say so because they see that because old people is no longer make money and they no longer contribute to the GDP and also because elderly people is no longer in their productive age and may not contribute anything to the nation. However, old people still also paying taxes and I think it still benefits the government. Also they still have their voice to contribute to political stuff for example like election, as long as the old people does not have a specific disease they still got their rights.

To overcome with the negative sides, maybe government should making and focus also in old population, they can make a project in order to make the old people also actively giving their contribution in a society for example, make a community that will help the old people.

All in all, there are some activities that society may be get benefits when they live along with the aging population, because they got more experienced and knowledge in lives. However, there also some thoughts that say aging people no longer contribute anything to the government so that government must take action to overcome with this.