In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Some individuals argue that many countries could cope issues due to old people is living more time than in the past. Others say that this could have more advantages for the population development. In my side of view, even though I thoroughly believe that disadvantages of having people who is getting older pass over the advantages, this is a current problem that we must live with.

In the one hand, elderly people have been introducing an awful lot of issues in multiple society sectors. Unlike young people, it is clear that old population tend to get sick in a high proportion, which can be easily demonstrated through statistics and multiple research developed in many countries. As a result, most of resources issued by the governments to the medical centers are spent in this population. Moreover, as these individuals are not able to work, governments have to pay a monthly subside to help them; for instance, most of old people in Colombia don’t have an insurance or pension, and Colombia administration must pay them around fifty percent of a regular salary.

On the other hand, there are a few advantages of having old people that can help the society. Currently teenagers, and young people in general, have forgotten the history and memories about their families or even their towns. In this way, old people can help to preserve cultural customs or history. Moreover, ancients are usually the families heart and always teach children how to behave properly in many situations.

In conclusion, elderly generate a lot of problems for governments while this population has a significative value in cultural terms; however, these could not be neglected due to they have rights. In many ways, despite the disadvantages, elderly population is useful to the society development.