In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

A globally common phenomenon is that people tend to have a longer average age than ever before. Some people believe that the aging population is a social problem, whereas others believe it has merits to society. I totally believe that the downsides of this phenomenon outweigh the upsides due to the lack of workforce and financial burden of raising the elderly.

The exclusive merit for having more elderly people in a nation is that it reduces the carbon emissions. This is mainly because the elderly are less energetic and digestive, therefore, they will consume less material in modern society.

On the other hand, there are numerous drawbacks of having a elderly society, including the lack of workforce and financial burden of raising them. First of all, the workforce plays a crucial role in developing a country. To be more precise, the youth is the major contribution to a nation’s GDP. That is to say, if the workforce in a nation became less and less, it would have a negative influence on its economy.

Furthermore, a heavy burden will emerge if the elderly account for the major population in a nation. That is because the elderly don’t have the ability to earn the wage, most of them are living on social insurance or their own deposits. That is to say, the rising elderly population will increase the burden on the youth, those who have the ability to work.

To conclude, I completely believe that the drawbacks of having more elderly people in a nation outweigh the merits of it. This is due to the fact that this phenomenon will lead to the lack of workforce and increase the financial burden of the youth.