In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s contemporary world, the number of elderly people is increasing day after the other because the vast majority people having a healthy life. Nevertheless, some hold a view that ageing population may create issues for governments, whereas others believe that there advantages on condition that society has more aged people than youngsters. For my way of thinking, its merits surpass its demerits, which will be elucidated in the following essay.

On the one hand, the several positives one of which is that elderly people own sufficient knowledge and experience. To be more precise, old people are the ones who are experienced in this life due to the fact they have already lived most of their life and they now what is good and what is bad for their society. Further and more importantly, traditions will be preserved. For example, in our family, our grandparents tell us about the rules which existed in our tradition several decades ago. By doing so, we can be informed about our culture and rules and in the not-to-distant future we will be able to teach our children about our culture and everything about it, which can be a helping hand for us to save our culture from disappearing.

On the other hand, there are a few drawbacks, which should not be overlooked. The major negative of it is that the amount of efficiency in workplace is going to decrease because of the fact that when people get higher than 50, they tend to lose their force, having influence on company’s efficiency.

Taking all the aspects mentioned above into consideration, while some think having elderly people in society can be a reason for some problems, others presume there are more benefits of it, I concluded that its advantages outweigh its disadvantages