In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In this modern world, the average lifespan of people has increased dramatically. Consequently, there has been a debate regarding the benefits of the elderly generation. While the majority of people hold the belief that older individuals pose more problems for governments, others argue that there are societal benefits. In my following essay, I will elaborate on both views and weigh the pros and cons.

For the time being, a great number of people tend to think that seniors create problems for officials. One primary reason for this viewpoint is the economic strain. Specifically, administrations provide financial support to retired individuals in the form of pensions and healthcare. This supply significantly impacts the budget, which could otherwise be utilized for industrialization or healthcare improvements. Another issue is the dependency ratio.To illustrate my point,a large retiree population reduce job opportunities for younger adults and students. Companies often favor experienced workers, leaving fewer job openings for the younger generation. As a consequence, young adults might have to work for minimal salaries or combine education with volunteering to acquire enough experience for lucrative jobs. Therefore, many people tend to believe that seniors have disadvantages for both ruling establishments and the new generation.

On the other side of the argument, a large number of people hold the view that there are also advantages from elders. One of the primary advantages is their ability to make significant contributions to our lives. They have experience and offer wise solutions for various work-related issues. They are good at solving problems that may seem unusual to younger individuals and simultaneously give lifelong lessons. Furthermore, their social contribution is another merit. Retired individuals want to relax or engage in easy jobs and are thus more willing to help through volunteering. For instance, they can read books for children in libraries, incouraging kids to be creativity and use their time as efficiently as possible. Additionally, the aging population can remain active, offering experience to newcomers through mentorship opportunities. Therefore, the vast majority of people hold the belief that there are more merits from senior citizens than disadvantages, meaii that the beneficial aspects of the elderly overshadow the drawbacks.

Taking all the aspects mentioned above into account, I conclude that while most individuals believe that officials face more problems from retirees, others presume that there are more merits from seniors. They contribute significantly by sharing their experience, offering advice to newcomers, and making contributions to the future of children. Therefore, the beneficial aspects of the elderly outweigh the demerits.