In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no doubt that these days the number of aged people has increased in lots of countries. The question is, is this a good indicator for these countries or not? Does it have any benefits or drawbacks on the society as a whole? In this essay, I am going to address the issue of elders drawing my own conclusion.

In terms of advantages, having a higher rate of elders could provide many benefits. For instance, old people have enormous knowledge and experience as they have lived longer. In other words, they could see the whole picture from an expert point-of-view, coming with solutions that even the most advanced technologies can not compare with. This could prove helpful on a family level, such as mending relationships, or on a national level like tackling political issues. Secondly, some elderly can help support the economy. This is because some professions do not set an age for retirement, an example of that is writing. Lastly, their mere existence promotes family ties. Many siblings live away from each other, so they keep up to date with each other whenever they visit their parents.

On the other hand, many argue that an aging population poses pressure on countries’ economies. The main reason given to support such a claim is as their numbers many many more elderly centers will be needed. To illustrate, building more centers will put a financial strain on the government’s budget because it also requires hiring more caretakers to tend to their needs. In other words, both construction fees and worker’s wages are to be fulfilled by the government. That is return will have a negative impact on the development of the country.

In conclusion, although it might be quite financially demanding to have more older people, having them around far surpasses any possible negativity as they are a source of wisdom, can work in many intellectual jobs, and gather family members together. That is why I am firmly of the opinion that their existence is important for society.