In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In different regions around the globe, people’s average age is getting bigger than before. Some people believe that the ageing population develop more problems for governments, in contrast, others believe that elderly people are beneficiary for the society. I reckon that elderly generation is quite important.

The experience that can only be found with elderly people can be used in different aspects of life, education, politics, economy, and science, their valuable experiences can give societies shortcuts to solve any problem arises, most of consultants in big companies and governments’ authorities are from this generation. Another advantage from elderly people is their contribution to the society, most of them help with organizations and voluntary work, additionally, whilst others help with raising their grandchildren at homes.

On the other hand, the increasing number of elderly people can be a huge disadvantage, which is the case in many countries, while the ratio of elderly people to young people increases constantly, and it impacts directly on the working power. For countries to develop, it is crucial to have strong young generation to lead the cycle of building nations. Other disadvantage is the higher load on the health care system to afford services to elderlies. Meanwhile, the number of retired people is a concern for the governments, because they should help them financially and socially.

To conclude, Although the disadvantages might seem large in number than the advantages, but the humanity need for this unreplaceable experience and knowledge is critical. I believe that most of the disadvantages are solvable, and responsibilities on countries can be dealt with through new laws, regulations, and management improvements.