In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in summer holidays. What is the value of long holidays? What are the arguments in favor of shorter school holidays.

Both long school holidays and shorter holidays are necessary for school children of primary and secondary schools since both types of holidays have advantages in their own aspects in spite of the arguments in favour of shorter school holidays.

To begin with the value of long holidays, almost all students look forward to enjoying long holidays after a prolonged academic year. Students can enjoy a long vacation either with their families or friends only when schools close for an extended period. That is the long break during which they can reenergize themselves after undergoing loads of studies, homework and school projects. Students can not only refresh themselves but also encounter new and exciting experiences from their vacation. Sometimes they can even make new friends from different parts of the world. Moreover, parents and children can make use of the long holiday to share their quality family time together. Additionally students can take great advantage of their long holidays by joining classes where they can enjoy their hobbies and learn new skills spontaneously such as learning foreign languages and how to play musical instruments.

Considering the arguments in favour of shorter school holidays, the most significant value of shorter holidays is students can avoid spending too much time on having vacation, which may lead to being demotivated and reluctant to return to their school life. Some students may even forget what they have learnt before their schools close. In this case, teachers may be required to take a long time to encourage students to be involved in studies and other school activities again after a long holiday. In such a situation, shorter school holidays can solve these potential problems because students can take a break without experiencing any issues of longer holidays.

In conclusion, as discussed above, both long and short holidays have their own values which can not be neglected. From my point of view, primary and secondary students deserve to enjoy long holidays once in an academic year along with short breaks in between throughout their learning process.