In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in summer holidays. What is the value of long holidays? What are the arguments in favor of shorter school holidays.

It is true that in various parts of the world primary and secondary schools are remain closed for two or more month; specially in the summer holidays. Although it could help students strengthen their extra curricular activities, I firmly believe it could potentially harmful for the students as there are chance of students going to become lazy and inattentive at studies.

There are a large number of reasons why shorter school holidays is technically and strategically suitable for students. One possible reason is that it helps students to be relaxed after long boring classes. In many countries, schools are the sign of boredom, therefore, students are being tired of doing classes all the months, so shorter school holidays bring joy to the students. For example, my school was strict enough, 8 hours classes all the months, but in December when examination is finished, school is going for shorter holidays which eventually help us to refresh ourselves. Another reason is that it strengthen our capability. According to a report published by The Business Standard 51% of students acknowledged that they literally can boost their energy and capability during the holidays.

Conversely, longer school holidays have some problems for the students. First, they become lazy. When a student get so much time they somehow gone lazy, this happens because after few days of holidays they do not know what to do, therefore laziness cling them tightly. For example, in 2016, when my exam was finished, we got almost 3 months leave from the government, in this time, I do not do anything, only things I had done was sleep and eating. However, few students got the time wisely, they learned how to run a computer, Microsoft Office and different basic programming language.

In conclusion, it is true that longer period holidays at school do much harm than good, I firmly believe students should have provided with shorter school holidays as it not only refresh themselves but also it helps strengthening concentration on studies.