In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in summer holidays. What is the value of long holidays? What are the arguments in favor of shorter school holidays.

It is often considered by some that a long vacation is valuable for pupil, while others think that a brief vacation has its advantages. In my opinion, I believe that all of them have both positive and negative sides. This essay will discuss both points of view in the following paragrapsh.

On the one hand, during a long period of time, children have more opportunities to have fun, go for walks, and explore new things. In other words when they go to school they only busy with lessons and hometask. This makes it impossible for them to spend time on other activities. For instance, the German government provides special rights for children, allowing them to spend a three-month vacation in camps, resting and engaging in other activities without lessons.

On the other hand, many feel that long school holidays have disadvantages, as they believe that pupils may skip classes. This may cause distraction and prevent students from developing hard skills, as well as hinder their understanding of lesson concepts. For example, Forbes journal had a research about this in the USA in 2010 which showed that children focus too much on amusement and rest. As a result, they do not want to be busy with lessons and it creates attention distraction. Therefore, some individuals argue against long-term holidays.

In conclusion, there are positive and negative sides of long and short school vacations for children. However, development is impossible without holidays, but education is also crucial for children’s future. Sometimes it is important to consider children’s opinions and encourage school life for them.