In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in summer holidays. What is the value of long holidays? What are the arguments in favor of shorter school holidays.

The duration of students’ vacation has become a prominent argument in modern society. While one group advocates that school holidays should be extended, another group argues in favor of shorter school holidays. This essay will analyze both perspectives in detail and attain a reasoned conclusion.

On one hand, proponents of long school holidays think that students need more time to focus on themselves. The knowledge imparted by schools is limited, students cannot obtain comprehensive information. This may cause the lack of imagination in them. During long holidays, students can visit various cities or countries, learn about different customs and cultures, which can broaden their horizons as well as enhance their imagination. What’s more, students need more time to interact with society rather than being confined to the school. At school, students always tend to believe that they should be the ones being taken care of, thus most of students lack of responsibility. In fact, during the teenage period, it’s the best time to cultivate a sense of social responsibility. As teenagers, they can participate in volunteer activities in long holidays, for instance, planting trees, visiting a nursing home, publicizing indigenous cultures to visitors. Therefore, they can achieve the sense of fulfillment from it and are more responsible in doing things.

On the other hand, critics point out that shorter school holidays are better suited to students. The main reason is that students are short of self-control. With the development of technology, electronic products are more and more popular. During the vacation, teenagers indulge in it, resulting in a decline in grades. Moreover, shorter school holidays can maintain learning ability, long vacations might cause students to forget the knowledge they have learned. Shortening the vacation period can enable them to maintain learning attitude and improve the studying efficiency.

In conclusion, while both long school holidays and shorter school holidays have different opinions in their own right. I personally support long school vacations as the most appropriate solution, because I think that cultivate teenagers’ imagination and responsibility are more important factors.