In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in summer holidays. What is the value of long holidays? What are the arguments in favor of shorter school holidays.

In numerous nations, primary and secondary schools are closed for at least two months during the summer break. I believe that long holiday that are contributed in most of the primary and secondary schools has significant value for kids mental health. However, shorter school breaks reduce the risk of “learning loss” .

The primary value of long term school holidays are that they positively influence on students health state. From my perspective after a long period of studying that leads lots of children to stress, holidays also should last longer. A case in point is that youngsters mentality is much weaker than elders, that is why their brain need to have rest. So that students will be ready for the next studying session.

In contrast, there are strong arguments for the benefits of shorter school holidays. As far as I am concerned, after short-term rest the possibility of undergraduates forgetting the school material is almost zero. Another point to consider is that educational level of school that actually have less recces is superior than in college with extended summer breaks.

As a consequence, while long holidays reduce the stress and have more beneficial effect on health, shorter holidays results higher level of education. To keep the balance, schools should mix both short and long term holidays in educational system.