In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in summer holidays. What is the value of long holidays? What are the arguments in favor of shorter school holidays.

In many nations, there are summer vacations for two months or even more for the students in primary and secondary schools. The most important thing about extended holidays is that pupils will remain mentally calm, and the main argument in favour of shorter holidays is that they will be able to learn more useful things at schools.

Pupils need holidays for two or more months because by doing so they will be comfortable and do not have any burden of school work. That is to say, majority of primary and secondary schools’ children cannot bear the pressure of overloaded work given by educational institutes. As a result, they need free time, so that they do not run away from academic work. Long holidays are not only the source of happiness for young students but also very beneficial for their mental well-beings. For instance, a study conducted in Vietnam in 2019 revealed that long vacations contributed to the effective psychological response in the children, as their minds were in ease. This evidence suggests that prolong holidays play a key role in foster the mind of primary and secondary students.

However, the primary argument in favour of short-term vacations is that students will learn lot of things from their schools, instead of wasting their time at home during prolong vacations. If there are shorter holidays, then the students will not be distracted and focus on their work. As we can observe that majority of students do not invest their time in productive activities at homes, as they do at schools. For example, according to a survey held in Japan in 2013, pupils scored high marks when they returned school after short vacation than from long holidays. This demonstrates that shorter holidays are very essential for students, because they will learn more things at school.

In conclusion, the important thing about prolong holidays in primary and secondary schools nowadays is that they will be mentally more comfortable, but shorter holidays are also crucial because pupils will learn more creative things at schools, as compared to homes.