In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in summer holidays. What is the value of long holidays? What are the arguments in favor of shorter school holidays.

Nowadays, schools closing for a period of time of two or more months during the summer vacation have become more focused all around the world. This essay will first discuss the value of long school vacations, and then consider the arguments appearing in favor of shorter holidays.

On one hand, one reason for preferring longer vacations is that schools could minimize the cost of maintaining the facilities and equipment. Since students are not present in schools during vacation, schools do not have to turn on electricity and water. Subsequently, it reduces the financial burden of running the school, and this amount of saved money could be used to invest to improve the overall learning environment. For instance, a primary school in the region where I used to live has had a 20-day longer summer vacation than the others. As a result, the school could start a scholarship program with the saved money in order to motivate the students. Doing so has propelled the school to become the most reputed school in my region for over 20 years.

On the other hand,while extended holidays reduce costs and allow schools to improve facilities, shorter holidays may benefit students and parents in other ways. Having a shorter school holiday is beneficial for students’ academic performance, and also reduces the parental responsibilities from taking care of their children. In general, students who spend more time on studying have a more expected possibility to succeed, since in school students are supervised by the teachers to be restricted from a potential learning loss. In addition, parents then could spend more time on their work or other activities which they really enjoy doing. One example is that, in China, many parents have issues with taking care of their children, which causes one parent to stay at home and give up on their job and personal dreams. Therefore, having a shorter holiday doesn’t only help students to focus more on their studies, but also free parents from taking care of their children.

In conclusion, while long holidays reduce costs and provide rest, shorter holidays may enhance academic consistency and support working parents. Therefore, a balanced schedule may bring the greatest benefit to both schools and families.