In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in summer holidays. What is the value of long holidays? What are the arguments in favor of shorter school holidays.

Summer holidays, undoubtedly, awaited by a vast majority of people. A plethora of countries have them for two months or more in primary and secondary level. The author will elaborate the crucial reasons to this notion.

Long term breaks have a vital impact towards the mental health of each students. They assist students to unwind themselves from the hustle and bustle in their acadamic lives. Moreover, their stress level will reduce because of the leisure time that given to express themselves. They will be more cheerful due to the spending of time with their friends and family and build bounds with them. In the time they enter the school, they will have a lot of different stories to share with their pals. This will give them comfort breaks and boost their spirit to learn in serious way.

Children tend to be more expressive and have prestiguous achievements when they have time to explore their hobbies. Not only will they have the academic achievements, but also the non-academic ones. They often get pressured to their acadamic performance and have a lot of homeworks to deal with when they get back home. These make them have limited time to do what they love and only focus on the theoritical learning.

Shorter school holidays, however, help the students to maintain the memories in learning materials and not having them to adapt again.

Overall, the author strongly believe that long holidays play a significant role not only to the students mental health, but also their performances in school.