In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in summer holidays. What is the value of long holidays? What are the arguments in favor of shorter school holidays.

A rising figure of countries organize their learning establishments to let children rest for more than a few month in the summer.

Many people consider the system positive, since it is a reasonable amount of time to relax and come back to school ready for the new studying year. However, others claim that shorter holidays in the summer have more advantages to them, such as the possibility to make time for more days off throughout the studying year.

Firstly, the summer period tends to be hot in most countries so the pupils may struggle keeping focus on the studies during this time. Consequently, many would try to skip school or find ways to disrupt the learning process, which would definitely have negative impact on children’s knowledge. For instance, the resent research has shown, that pupils’ grades tend to drop closer to the end of the studying year. Secondly, it is vital to give younger generation at least two months for resting and enjoying themselves, in order for students to return to the studies refreshsed and ready for the following year.

On the other hand, longer rest in summer means less days off during the other seasons. It might lead to pupils burning out, which would surely lower the ability to learn new information. Moreover, shorter summer holidays could result in students remembering the material better at the beginning of the new studying year. For example, it is definitely easier to recall the information we’ve learnt after two weeks’ rest rather than doing so after two months.

In conclusion, there are many benifits and drawbacks to long holidays.