In many countries, the number of people suffering from stress in the workplace is increasing. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to tackle it?

Nowadays the number of individuals facing stress and anxiety rises sharply day by day. This often can lead to some detrimental consequences such as mental breakdowns or low productivity levels. This essay is aimed at expanding on the causes of this particular problem and providing viable solutions to resolve this pressing societal issue.

The overuse of social media is the first major contributor to the stress level. The fact is that excessive screen time is the reason why people become more nervous. For instance, by using Instagram for six hours a day and comparing herself with bloggers and influencers, my friend Masha got chronic stress disorder and had to rest in a hospital. The second key factor that largely affects stress is overload that people encounter while working. The cut-throat environment that forces professionals to work without breaks and weekends disturbs individuals’ life-work balance and have a negative impact on their mental state.

In terms of the solutions, the cut down on time using social networks can partly alleviate this urgent matter. If people consume content on social media less, they will not resort to comparing themselves with others, thereby decreasing their anxiety level. Furthermore, the stress can be reduced by applying mindfulness techniques. For example, relaxing breathing practices or a short meditation during working breaks can foster mental well-being and raise individeal’ efficiency.

Taking everything into consideration, people suffer from stress every day. Such consistent anxiety and nervousness can often result in serious health problems, so some crucial steps in order to resolve this issue should be immediately taken into account. For instance, limiting scrolling time or meditation can have a positive influence on the stress level reduction.