In many countries, the number of people suffering from stress in the workplace is increasing. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to tackle it?

The quantity of people suffering from stress is increasing in a number of countries. I think that the reason for this is the hard working lifestyle and the solution for this problem might be decreased work hours.

Most of the world is obsessed with the idea of work. Some people work 15 hour shifts just to earn money. While this is great for economy of the country and the bank account of the worker, overworking has a lot of side effects on many areas of life and is a catalyst for stress. For instance, people might forget about their personal life that can include spending time with family, their hobbies and interests and leisure activities because of working too much. Constanly being in the work mode is very stressful. Therefore, spending time for things outside of work is very important.

One possible way of tackling this issue is reducing the number of shift hours in the country. This will force people’s thoughts out of their work and make them spend time on themselves. Decreased work hours also has great benefits for mental and physical health, which then reduces stress levels. For example, people can spend their new acquired free time on physical activities, which are proven to decrease cortisol levels-the amount of stress hormones-in the body. The mental health will benefit from rest. Hence the reduction of working time can be a key to solve the stress problem in the world.

In conclusion, one of the main reasons for increasing number of people suffering from stress is overworking because of the sacrifice of personal life, and the possible solution for overworking might be reduced work hours because it will greatly benefit mental and physical health.