In many countries, the number of people suffering from stress in the workplace is increasing. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to tackle it?

The amount of people who feel a growth in levels of stress is increasing in many countries. This essay states that the number of hours of work is the main cause of this problem and more productive work, in cooperation with a better transport system, can help people’s lives.

Nowadays, everyone is spending more and more time at work and doesn’t have time for themselves or their family. In the long term, this exposure can lead to several problems, like stress, burnout and relationship problems. For example, if someone spends 10 hours working and then needs to take a one-hour journey by bus, almost doesn’t have time to rest. Because of that, he arrived home and fell asleep. On the next day, he awakes at 6 am and does the same thing again. With this routine, the person doesn’t have time to talk to his children and wife or do something that he likes. This leads to a more stressful and frustrated life.

However, if the transport system is better, people can reduce their travel time by 20%, which leads to an increase in time to spend with family or friends. Moreover, if the worker is compensated for his productivity with more free time, people would be incentivised to work better, with the goal of having spare time. With all this combined, people would have a significant increase in quality of life, and consequently, a reduction in stress levels.

In conclusion, people spend the majority of their time working and are not able to be with others that they love and enjoy. The bad transpot and work systems leads to an increase in stress.