In many countries, the number of people suffering from stress in the workplace is increasing. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to tackle it?

In modern societies, stress and anxiety have become typical diagnoses among the population. This kind of cases have been increasing for the past few years, and it is not difficult to identify the causes leading to that.

Recent improvements in transportation and technologies have resulted in “faster” lifes. For instance, nowadays it is not surprising to have a meeting in Barcelona in the morning, and a conference in Rome in the afternoon. Fast trains and frequent flights have made workers more available than ever, which can lead to stressfull situations derived from packed agendas. In a similar way, the extensive use of videocalls and online resources makes it difficult to establish boundaries regarding working hours. This is because even when being at home or taking care of family duties, one can be easily reached by coworkers. This is a situation that makes it very difficult to ever disconnect from work.

Fortunately, workers are staring to understand the great importance of maintaining a healthy work-life balance. In this regard, there are several measures that can be implemented in order to reduce stress. For example, flexible hours and remote working allow employers to better adjust their schedules depending on their situations, which reduces the amount of stressful moments. As an example, taking a kid to the doctor would not be a source of stress anymore if a company allows employees to shift their working hours to better accommodate the appointment. However, for these measures to be useful it is essential that companies and co-workers respect other people’s free time and plan realistic agendas.

In conclusion, recent changes in our way of living may easily cause stressful situations, but making an effort in adapting our working style can significantly reduce stress levels and improve general mental health.