In many countries, the number of people suffering from stress is increasing. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to tackle it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The number of people suffering from stress and anxiety is growing in many countries. One of the main factors of anxiety is high cortisol levels caused by overstimulation and the excessive consumption of caffeine and highly processed food. Due to the fast pace of life and the responsibilities we have, it can be quite challenging for people to process everything going around.

Internet is one of the reasons people are over-stimulated as each one of us is connected to the whole world. A stressed person won’t be comparing himself with people surrounding him only, but with the entire universe, and this puts him under great pressure. One important factor that adds up to this is drinking coffee on an empty stomach and eating fast food, this spikes our cortisol levels and will definitely make people even more stressed.

On the other hand, a slower pace of life is a great solution for stress. Taking time out from social media, limiting screen time, and connecting with nature are great options to relieve stress. Another point to consider is that governments should consider raising awareness of mental health and how people can deal with stress. A monthly visit to a therapist can guide people to handle their stressful lives. This shouldn’t be as costly for people as it is now, so it can be added to the health care of a country for free.

In conclusion, stress is a major problem countries face in the contemporary times. We can tackle this by raising awareness of mental health and taking a slower pace of life.