In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have positive or negative effects on society?

Currently, an increasing number of nations have an older tendency in population. Personally, this phenomenon has both pros and cons on society

On the one hand, many older people in the national population bring some beneficial effects. Firstly, it decreases the prices for education. Indeed, when older people take up a large number in society that leads to a decline in the costs to pay for study nationwide. For example, it is essential for all countries to invest in the education of young people, thereby minimizing this payment for the elderly. In addition, this tendency supports the various services related to older people’ needs. For instance, almost all of them need to be taken care of. Therefore, many services such as massage, health care were established more and more which made economic profits for these countries.

On the other hand, this situation has plenty of disadvantages. One of the most negative effects is the loss of the competitive nations’ economy. For instance, Japan is famous for having too many older people in the population and a significant lack of workers. This causes the worried economical problems because Japan has gradually no ability to compete with other nations all over the world. And this requires the government to quickly solve it. Moreover, the payment for the elderly dramatically increases. In other words, it lost the equality that young people have no enough capacity for older people cost

In conclusion, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing not only advantages but also disadvantages on society.