In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have positive or negative effects on society?

While some people think that having more old people can be beneficial because of their long life experience, I think extended life longevity has its own bad impacts such as funding and healthcare.

From one angle, the majority of people think that if societies have more elderly people it may be beneficial to youngsters and adults. Precisely, people will have experienced people to request who have undergone this situation before. I think, having a lot of leisure time as a result of retirement they can spend their majority of free time with their grandchildren with some activities such as telling fairytales, stories, reading books and encouraging them to read while their parents were working or earning money.

On the other hand, life longevity can create lots of problems starting from funding them with a pension to a helping with monetary support for services healthcare, for instance. Precisely, whether governments took a tax from their salary before when they were working age, it cannot cover their own pension. I think, while giving pension is still problem, there will be greater problem the case, supporting them to use services. If I take health care as an example, the cost of treatment is unaffordebly high for elderly people themselves in addition to high price of medication. So it will be burning issue for them if government do not care about them.

In conclusion, there is advantage of having big number of old people because of spending their time to improve their grandchildren’s horizon. But, controvercially, having many old people can cause lots of economical probems.