In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have positive or negative effects on society?

Nowadays,in majority of countries around the world,the percentage of elderly individuals is rising.Despite the possible advantages of this situation,I personally believe this is a negative development for several reasons.

On one hand,increasing the number of elderly people can be beneficial for some reasons.Firstly,elderly people possess much experience than anyone else.As,they have been living for many years since they were born.For example,old members of family such as grandmother and grandfather can easily teach younger ones in doing labour properly without any mistakes.Secondly,old individuals can give a real connection to the past and explain what life was like in the previous century.This would be really useful for children and students,because they are used to being in modern time without any knowledge of history.

However,regardless of advantages which may be noted in this development,I think,it is a negative situation.The first reason is that,Having tough population of elderly people can be problematic in many workplaces.This is because,they are not able to use advanced technology.Since many jobs demand being flexible and having basic understanding of utilizing electronic devices,elderly ones can not simply follow the latest trend that we have in a contemporary world.Futhermore,the increasing number of elderly individuals can prevent youngsters from their job opportunities.As,job market is really competitive area for working,there might be issues in finding suitable vacancies for youth,since all jobs have been employed by old people.

To sum up,although there are several beneficial sides of increasing population of elderly people,I personally believe,this is a negative development,because it can contribute to deprivation of chances for new generation.