In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have positive or negative effects on society?

The elderly population is growing in many countries around the world. There could be a variety of causes for this phenomenon, which could have both positive and negative consequences in the community. However, both effects will be discussed further with relevant examples.

Advancement of the country’s health care system has had the most positive impact on individuals’ ability to live their lives to the fullest. Adults and children can stay and enjoy themselves with their grandparents and parents, respectively. Furthermore, because the older generation has more experience and valuable assets, they can guide and advise their close family members, keeping them on track and making them understand how to cope up with each and every situation they face. For instance, the grandparents play a significant role in a family’s unity and if all the families will have an aged person to advise then it may help because they have high moral values and experience, they contribute to the overall development and enhancement of society.

However, I would not consider the health issues associated with the elderly, such as Arthritis or joint pain. Because the elderly are prone to diseases, they will be required to pay for their hospital bills. Furthermore, they will become a burden to a family. Children today force their elderly parents to live in nursing homes because they cannot afford the time, care, and money they require. Aside from that, government institutions will be required to pay for the retired generation, which will eventually lead to a financial crisis in the economy.

To recapitulate, there are numerous benefits that the longevity of the older generations can provide to society, such as invaluable advice to the youth and decision-making. However, it can have a negative impact on societal development because they need funds to cure diseases or they will die from pain.