In many countries, the use of facial recognition technology in public places is increasing for security purposes. However, some people think this violates individual privacy and should be restricted. To what extent do you agree or disagree that the benefits of this technology outweigh its drawbacks?

Concerns about security have multiplied the need to use facial recognition technology in public spaces; this dynamic is applicable to countries all over the world. The opinions of the general public differ: while some think of the technology as an invasion into their privacy, others believe it is a necessary safety precaution. In my view, facial recognition technology is needed for the safety of the people.

Having technology that is able to recognize faces in public places can reduce cases of thievery. Most of the time, the software is installed into cameras that cover certain areas where a group of people interacts with each other. Because of this, the technology can spot suspicious individuals, zoom into their faces and identify them. For example, if a report is made about a valuable bag being stolen, the culprit can be identified in a matter of minutes simply by looking at the cameras with a facial recognition system. Therefore, it is a useful technology to have against security breaches.

An alternative viewpoint taken by the other part of the population is that such technology can invade their privacy. This could be due to the fact that no one has truly given their consent to be recorded and even worse, identified with their full name and personal information. But frankly, unless a person believes they have done something illegal (e.g. stealing) or thinks the world revolves around them, there is no reason to be offended about their face being recognized.

To conclude, my opinion on this matter is positive; the public is safer with facial recognition software around them. Although a certain part of the population is extremely concerned for their privacy, I believe being cautious and implementing the technology increases levels of safety in public spaces.