In many countries today the retirement age from work has been raised. Do the advantages of raising the retirement age from work outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the ageing population, who are being worked, have increased. As far as I am concerned, this issue has more drawbacks than benefits for some reasons.

To begin with, old people gradually have a health decline. We are human, thus we are limited to physics. As people age, they face health problems that make it difficult for them to work, worse capable of being wound out and lower productivity. Moreover, an unsafe workplace will be a concern. Older employees may be error-prone in completing the hard task which includes a physically demanding job. If this issue carries on, the older worker will be stressed out and their health lead to numerous diseases, such as bone and joint disease, high blood pressure, etc.

Secondly, not only is retirement age health exhaustion, but it also limited job opportunities for youth’s careers. It cannot denied that older employees are often more surpassing than young workers. They have enough valuable experience and skills to make the company’s economic stability. As you know, a large number of companies are dealing with financial challenges, therefore, they have made up their mind to choose skilful workers as ageing populations. As a result in increasing jobless, unemployment. In addition, old workers will reduce retirement enjoyment. They contributed all their talent to society, on the contrary, they did not pursue personal interests that are out of the question. Furthermore, they have grandchildren, and elderly parents who need to be taken care of after young people set out to work. However, they cannot bring work to a halt to look after family.

To summarise, although raising the retirement age is increasingly social security funds and pension systems, in my point of view, the disadvantages of increasing the retirement age outweigh the advantages.