In our contemporary era, migrating to big cities endangers peoples lives. The challenges of urban areas are environmental

In our contemporary era, migrating to big cities endangers peoples lives. The challenges of urban area are environmental hazard and high crime rate. However, I believe governments needs to motivate people to live in Urban area because it facilities development and balance the population.

To commence, one of the problems encountered by living in big cities is negative impact to the environment. The high demand and usage of transport system like cars, and motorcycle that in turn releases carbon dioxide into the atmosphere, which is supposed to be absorbed by trees that are cut down in order to build houses leading to great air pollution demaging the atmosphere. For instance, according to recent research by Urban Development Commission, Nigeria said that 80% of carbon dioxide are released into the environment daily in cities. Moreover, breaking of laws are rampant in the cities. Due to laxity of law enforcement agency, many city dwellers do not abide by the community rules and involves themselves in criminal acts like thief, rape, and vandalization of peoples property thereby making victims homeless and affecting the community at large. Thus, large cities posses great threat to individual.

Nevertheless, the authority should enlighten more people on the importance of staying in smaller towns because it enhances development. Residence of a community are in the best position to make the environment conducive for living. The maintenance and development of social infra-structure improves greatly by the villagers. For example, Womens group of Abagana community built roads and hospital through community levy. In addition, living in less developed places helps to balance the population between urban area and rural areas. Hence, there is need for individuals to live in smaller towns.

In conclusion, although environmental hazard and increased law breaking are dangers of big cities. However, I believe that government should encourage citizens to stay in smaller cities due to the fact that it brings societal improvement and balances the population.