In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Recently, shopping has become indispensable, and an increase demand for huge malls has been witnessed. Some individuals prefer to shop in giant malls, and they abandon shopping in small local shops. Consequently, those shops have closed and lost their buyers. I firmly assert that it is undesirable phenomenon with negative implications.

To embark on, clients nowadays may have inclined to doing their shopping in gigantic malls claiming that it is beneficial when it comes to products’ availability and reasonable prices. To explain, when they go to these places to purchase their needs, they find flash sales and offers without being burdened by limitations and restrictions. For example, in Egypt, a plethora of families specify some days for shopping and meanwhile chilling out and have fun in those areas of shopping. Therefore, this development affects small business entrepreneurs and leads to their losses.

Additionally, shopping in such places will not only affect small local shop owners but also it harms the country’s economy. In other words, if owners of local shops shut down their stores’ doors, this will result in inflation, economic recession, and increase in unemployment rates. For instance, in gulf countries, many small shop owners have reported their bankruptcy because of slow movement of progress, which was occurred due to noticeable decrease in numbers of their customers. Thus, not only does shopping in such outstanding malls harm small businesses, but it also has negative impacts on countries’ economy. This alarming incident makes governments to be more vigilant and take some steps to advocate small entrepreneurs.

In conclusion, after this essay has shown deleterious implications of this phenomenon, it can be reiterated that malls and big stores have unpleasant effects on buying and selling movements of small local shops. Despite the fact that they contain variety of goods and commodities at lower price, they indirectly cause unavailability of some employment opportunities. As a result, governments ought to encourage and support owners of small stores by providing them with all means which ensure success and prosperity.