In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, the introduction of enormous shopping centers has seen a satisfying acceptance by the targeted population and this includes local citizens and tourists. However, it has affected the local business drastically. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantage of the given development which inlines more towards a positive country growth.

To begin with, in the corporate world the voice of the customer is the primary goal which is also the main pillar of successful business. This resulted in building huge malls with copious international brands and food courts to provide a smoother shopping experience. Therefore, family and friends would pick to enjoy their time at one place instead of wasting hours in road trips between scattered local markets.

Moreover, governments are implementing high technical facilities to increase the security and safety in malls. Thereby, customers will definitely tend to visit these centers other than street shops that might be surrounded by thieves and abductors. All the reasons will result in the bankruptcy of local business and it is the one and only drawback.

In conclusion, there is a debate over this matter. The positive outweighs the negative according to customers but the other way round to local shop owners. This can be solved by providing space to these owners inside the malls.