In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Shopping malls/the super markets are widely recognised today among many as a go to option. Lately, almost everyone prefers multi-malls for their daily needs and because of this many individual shop owner are forced to shut their shops due to lack of income/profit generation. This issue could be viewed as positive as well as a negative development too.

The reason I base this are upon 2 main factors, the taxes and the profits. Furthemore, i will support my reasons and give my conclusion in the upcoming essay.

On the one hand, the benefits of purchasing in mega malls are fantastic. Firstly, since the tax rates are constant throughout all sectors of centers, the prices are kept constant across all parts of the nation. Whereas, this is not the case among the local shops, For Instance, 100 grams of ground nut will be charged rupees 50 in the local shop. While the same can be bought for 30 rupees in the super market. Secondly, because of the low prices the influx of customers are always constant and maintained, so the amount of time spent in searching and bargaining is significantly reduced by these advanced shops.

On the other hand, there are negative impacts on the society. First, eventhough the prices in the local retailers are high, the convenience are at it’s best. And the profits which are gained by the sale are benefiting an individual person and his family. Unlike the mega marts the entire profits goes to many investors. For example, the money gained after each sales are directly benefiting the seller in all ways to keep his business running. In contrast, the profits gained by the super markets are further divided and only a fraction of the profit goes to the producer. While the rest goes to the Trust.

To conclude, shopping in local shops versus mega shopping hubs, the benefits are equally balanced for different users according to their needs and preference so I would say that it has 50-50 chance of both the developments in our ages.