In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Lately, people consider visiting large plazas and shopping complexes rather than shopping from nearby stores that are locally run. This trend has seen a considerable hike due to the new lifestyle of individuals. Although some advocate that this change in trend has a negative development, I strongly believe it is a positive shift. Mainly because this helps the customer to have more options to choose from and have a whole new experience.

Firstly, the availability of malls and massive complexes provides the consumers with the chance to look around and opt for the best product from the range of choices. The case with small stores is the lack of alternatives for a product. The most appropriate example for this is when a customer is planning to purchase a pair of shoes, in a local shop that provides only very few varieties of brands and models, the buyer is forced to buy it. However, in a massive mall that has hundreds of branded stores for shoes, the customer is able to pick a pair that matches their preferences.

Secondly, large shopping centers allows the buyers to have an opportunity to walk around and have the experience of walking around and exploring the whole establishment rather than just being in a small shop. People of newer generation opt to visit the big town centers as they provide more than just a regular nearby local store. An instance for the same can be seen in a teenager’s social media post or updates, where they would be posting pictures and videos on their visit to a mall.

In conclusion, the introduction of malls and shopping complexes is a positive trend considering its impact. Enormous plazas has brought about a lot more of possibilities for purchasers to select a product from and also have a good time.