In some countries, despite the decline in serious crime, people feel less secure than ever before. What do you think are the main causes of this problem and what actions can be taken to solve it?

In few countries, it has been been observed that although the proportion of grevious offenses is declining, people still feel more insecure than they used to. The main reason behind this is the overwhelming incline of cyber bullying and the detailed broadcast of major crimes in TV and other social media apps and the most viable solutions would be to raise the public awareness about the masses and by implenting strict laws.

The primary cause of people not feeling safe than they used to is because the arena of crime has changed. People are now more interacting virtually, make online friends and share their pictures on social media which is mostly unregulated and uncontrolled. Moreover, broadcasters and TV channels now start telecasting various types of crime scenes which creates a sense of fear and threat in the mind of the public. For instance, there are numerous telecasters in Pakistan which has started these type of programmes by showing daily offenses such as murderes, rape and other major crimes. As a result, people see it as a danger and began to feel extra unconfident about their personal societal security.

To adress this issue, the most effictive solutions would be to lift the public understanding regarding aggrevated offenses. TV channnels and newspapers start to right more about safety measures instead of broadcasting commited crimes. Additionally, there is a need to create and implement strict policies. If there will be reckless punishment for every crime, people start to live peacefully and carelessly. For instance, government of Saudi Arabia has recently applied severe rules which penalize offenses, as crimes like cyber bullying and harassement which was previously not defined as an offense.

In conclusion, insecurity among some section of population is still prevailing due to the change in the nature of the crimes nowadays. However, this can easily be addressed by making public aware and by making laws