In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than ever before. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

In several countries, the number of severe crimes has declined. However, people still feel unsafe. The causes for this are high interest in social media platforms and increasing smart devices that track your location anywhere you go. Possible solutions are not sharing personal information on social media accounts and disabling location tracking on any smart device.

The reason for feeling unsafe nowadays is the high interest in social media platforms. People of all ages have social media accounts, especially teenagers. These platforms are making it easier for people to share daily activities with others. However, although sharing fun moments with others in one click is tempting, it is not always a safe choice if you don’t want the public to know much about you. For example, on Instagram, people share stories and can share their locations or names of places they are in. Also, they can share things like their workplace and personal details that may give people more access to them. In addition, the smart devices we use nowadays can track us easily and make it easier for others to know where we are if we are unaware of that.

Measures that can be taken to reduce this are keeping it private as much as possible. Instead of being public on social media, people can be private and add close members to their profiles, so they are challenging to access. For example, when people send friend requests on Facebook, others can accept or not and decide whether they want this person to know details about them. In addition, being aware of location tracking on smart devices is crucial, and making sure those options are always disabled so we not getting tracked is essential for our safety.

To conclude, even though the number of crimes has declined. People are still feeling unsafe; this is due to high interest in social media and smart devices. Measures that can be taken to solve it are minimizing personal information being shared on social media and being aware of location tracking options on any smart device.