In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than ever before. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

In several countries, the number of severe crimes has declined. However, people still feel unsafe. The causes for this are high interest in social media platforms and increasing smart devices that track your location anywhere you go. Possible solutions are not sharing personal information on social media accounts and disabling location tracking on any smart device.

Feeling unsafe nowadays is due to the high interest in social media platforms. People of all ages have social media accounts, especially teenagers. These platforms make it easier for people to share daily activities with others. However, although sharing fun moments with others in one click is tempting, it is only sometimes a safe choice. For example, on Instagram, people share their location in one click.

In addition, our smart devices can track us and make it easier for others to know where we are. Measures that can be taken to reduce this include being aware of location tracking on smart devices, which is crucial, and making sure those options are always disabled so we are not getting tracked. For example, any smart device has settings that allow people to choose what and what not to share.

To conclude, even though the number of crimes has declined. People are still feeling unsafe; this is due to high interest in social media and smart devices. Measures that can be taken to solve it are minimizing personal information being shared on social media and being aware of location tracking options on any smart device.