In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than ever before. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

In some nations, despite the decreased rates of serious crimes, people feel threatened more than ever before. The causes of this problem are how easily one’s personal information can be leaked through the internet and the fact that criminals are using more and more advanced technology. Some viable solutions are using a VPN and being cautious with links on online platforms.

First of all, the presence of the internet has endangered people’s privacy more than ever before. Recklessly posting photographs of yourself on Facebook can provide anyone out there with the necessary information to pinpoint your address. For example, you might accidentally include a sign with the name of the road in one of your selfies, which exposes your location. Another way a person can find out where you are is through links on online platforms, through which they can trace back your IP and even your bank account. With such information, they can then sell it on illegal platforms or use it to rob you.

So what can people do to avoid all these dangers? One solution is to use a VPN. This application helps people fabricate their location and IP, thus getting rid of the risk of being tracked down by high-tech criminals. With a VPN, people can be more at ease when they are surfing the internet, but they should not let their guard down. Any links that pop up on your screen can potentially give away your information. These links can also be designed to automatically download viruses into your computer, which can be used by criminals later on to blackmail you. For instance, they can get your computer affected with ransomware, which eats away your data and will completely delete it unless you pay them a hefty amount.

In conclusion, even if serious crimes are less likely to happen, people’s safety is now in danger due to the lack of necessary protection against new threats brought about by technological advancements, thus people should be cautious and protect themselves.