In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than ever before. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

In some nations, people are reported to feel the lack of security, in spite of the decrease of serious crime rates. While proposing a range of reasons for this phenomenon, I would suggest some solutions for improvement during the course of this essays.

Due to the rapid urbanization on the global scale, the living expenditure is also witnessed a raise in many aspects such as the price of houses, domestic goods or healthcare services. Consequently, residents have to sacrifice their work-life balance but still bear the anxiety that they are not productive enough and can be replaced in the uncompromisingly competitive market. This fear is the root of a busy lifestyle which creates the disconnection between humans. We are not willing to help others as our ancestors thousand years ago, defending that there are potential risks of strangers or time lost. For instance, “bystander” – the term which illustrates the situation where the crowd refuses to send help because of the collective thought that others will do.

There are some solutions which can be implemented to improve this problem. First of all, mordern people should strengthen their mental health to cope better with the stress coming from the rapid change of the society. Having a work-life balance with sufficient rest and embracing personal pace of development instead of reflexing other’s path are some approaches to obtain well-being. Moreover, to increase social association, people should spend more time gathering with family, friends or groups of people with same interests. Re-connection can help reduce the loneliness, encouraging the confidence and graditute.

In conclusion, the constant anxiety coming from urbanization and the increasing social isolation are reasons for the insecure feeling among mordern residents. However, to better control the situation, people could enhance their mental strength and engage in social activities.