In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than ever before. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

In our modern era, although there is a consensus that crime’s prevalence has decreased dramatically, a number of population still feel insecure. In this essay, some of contributing factors will be mentioned, and solutions will be proposed.

Initially, there are a myriad of reasons that have led to this phenomena. The most significant factor that increase the frightening levels is past events. In other words, when individuals witness previous incidents of crimes, they show an increased tendency to develop a life-time psychological trauma. In terms of psychology, there are a plethora of studies that have shown that our emotions are strictly correlated to our past events. Therefore, in mild cases, these symptoms could be effectively controlled by emotional reassurance, but in severe cases, asking for psychological support would be the best treatment option.

However, this phenomena could be easily managed by some authoritative influences. Firstly, governments should provide higher levels of safety in streets, by implementing strict policies against any sort of violence. To illustrate, if criminals witness serious consequences after committing an atrocity, crimes rate will be hugely decreased, and the government will be more capable to alleviate this issue. Eventually, a hybrid approach would be the best in these cases, meaning that a combination of efforts made by citizens and governments can impede any safety-related issues.

In conclusion, according to the aforementioned points, the insecurity feeling is highly correlated with an individual’s intrusive thoughts. Consequently, I am reiterating my opinion that visiting a psychiatrist is the most quintessential factor to eliminate the issued feeling, and followed by some governmental efforts to encounter the issue of decreased safety levels.