In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than ever before. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

These days, in many countries people are feeling less safe despite the decrease of the number of crimes commited. This is due to the fact that people are not well informed and there is a lot of people lying on social media. As measures to solve this problem, goverments should control social media and clarify any misunderstanding.

In contemprorary society, people use internet very much and they tend to believe everything they see there. However, not everything on internet is true. As example, it is usally common that many terrorist groups use internet for their propaganda. Sometimes, even if a single serious crime is commited, it will become so popular on social media that people will be frightened. For example, in developed countries, if a migrant commit a crime, people will share it everywhere and all migrants will be seen as guilty; as result people will feel less safe around them.

It is the responsability of governments to make sure that people are well informed. They have to check everything that is on internet and social media. Furthermore, they aslo need to share real statistics will the populations in order to make them feel more safe. For instance, in my country, there was a terrorist attack on a border and everybody in the region wanted to leave because of fake news and images they saw on internet. The president himself had to make a conference in order to make people feel safe again.

In summary, social media and internet play an important role in the fact that people are feeling less safe; they are tools to manipulate people and convince them. The goverments are the main key to stop this phenomenon. It is their job to protect people and make sure they are feeling safe.