In some countries increasing number of people are suffering from health problem as a result of eating to much fast food. It is necessary for government to impose high tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

In most of the countries, fast food system has already secured a position which can never be replaced since both adults and children tend to get stuck with the artificial color and flavors they offer. To mitigate the impact of these junk foods on health is an urgent need of the hour. So, I consider imposing tax upon such appetizers as a brilliant attempt to reduce the consumption of it.

To begin with, the higher tax can discourage the regular consumers from taking junk food. When a massive tax imposes, the price goes up which would make it unaffordable for the people who take it regularly. Thus, they might reduce the amount and frequency of convenience food and might turn to healthy traditional homemade food. As a result of the decline in the profit, fast food outlets may be closed for the benefit of the society. For example, after 18 per-cent of tax was imposed on fast food in India, though there was no dramatic decline in the number of consumers, at least some people started thinking about the adverse effects of taking too much junk food. This proves that if government is determined fast food consumption can be brought down.

Another justification is that this tax could be a safe source of income for the government. Usually whenever there is a tax increase there is strong opposition from the people, but in this case the role for protest is negligible when people realize that this tax is for the benefit of the society. Since the high-income group can afford the exorbitant rates of food stuffs, they might not be against it. Hence, this tax can undoubtedly be a consolation or relief for government struggling to make money for the infrastructure development.

In conclusion, applying huge tax upon junk foods is really a commendable strategy as it reduces the intake of food from outlets and thus people become more healthy and fit. Besides, it can positively affect the economic growth of any countries.