In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days, many more people prefer to line alone in some countries compared to the past. In my opinion, this trend has both positive and negative sides.

On the one hand, people who live alone are more independent than people who live with their family. They learn more life skills such as cooking, cleaning, paying bills and managing their budget. Another positive aspect is in terms of comfort, as it is quiet in one-person households and people can do their work very well without any worry. For instance, a person who works online, he or she does their work easily without any noise or any problem. Thirdly, it is also beneficial for construction companies because the more people living alone, the greater the demand for housing.Therefore, companies should construct more buildings.

On the other hand, people who live alone feel loneliness, isolation and worry. They miss out on emotional support, daily conversation with family and help with the housework. They must solve all the weight of household problems themselves. For example, when a person comes home from work,she or he should cook something to eat. Although he is very tired, he should cook. Secondly, from the financial view, the increase in demand for housing is raising the property price and rent. Although this benefits some companies, it is a negative side for the population. For instance, if a person is a student, his or her earnings are not so much and this situation creates some financial problem for him.

To sum up, the increase in one-person households has both negative and positive effects for individuals.