In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

There has been an escalating trend that an increasing number of people prefer living independently. This essay will throughly explore the reasons behind this trend and explain why it can produce negative effects on the overall development of society.

To begin with, the primary reason why individuals live alone is the reduced dependence on others. Specifically, with the high maturity of the Internet services, people can fulfill their personal needs through various advanced electronic devices, including shopping online, gaining practical information and engaging in recreational activities. Therefore, people might feel less necessary to establish a strong connection with external circumstances. Another contributing factor is the extra responsibility caused by living in groups. For instance, if individuals inhabit with their families or spouses, it is unquestionable that they may have to constantly offer emotional support in order to maintain the harmonious relationships. Consequently, reducing the likelihood of conflicts or arguments contributes to the prevalence of living by themselves.

From my perspective, this mainstream is ultimately detrimental to the development of society. Firstly, long-term habit of being alone can greatly undermine people’s willingness to interact, thereby hampering social progress which requires a highly communicative environment. Apart from that, the strong sense of isolation might be harmful for individuals’ mental health. Although living alone is able to improve personal style and uniqueness, the negative consequences such as depression and loneliness, resulting in the degradation of emotional stability.

In conclusion, the greatly improved convenience of current society and people’s strong awareness of individuality contribute to the popularity of living alone. However, it can reduce the opportunities for interaction and weaken relationships between people, thus producing a negative effect on social progress.