In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Is this a positive or negative development?
In recent years it has become far more normal for people to live alone,
particularly in large cities in the developed world. In my opinion, this trend
could have both positive and negative consequences in equal measure.
The rise in one-person households can be seen as positive for both
personal and broader economic reasons. On an individual level, people
who choose to live alone may become more independent and self-reliant
than those who live with family members. A young adult who lives alone,
for example, will need to learn to cook, clean, pay bills and manage his
or her budget, all of which are valuable life skills; an increase in the
number of such individuals can certainly be seen as a positive
development. From an economic perspective, the trend towards living
alone will result in greater demand for housing. This is likely to benefit the
construction industry, estate agents and a whole host of other companies
that rely on homeowners to buy their products or services.
However, the personal and economic arguments given above can be
considered from the opposite angle. Firstly, rather than the positive
feeling of increased independence, people who live alone may
experience feelings of loneliness, isolation and worry. They miss out on
the emotional support and daily conversation that family or flatmates can
provide, and they must bear the weight of all household bills and
responsibilities; in this sense, perhaps the trend towards living alone is a
negative one. Secondly, from the financial point of view, a rise in demand
for housing is likely to push up property prices and rents. While this may
benefit some businesses, the general population, including those who
live alone, will be faced with rising living costs.
In conclusion, the increase in one-person households will have both
beneficial and detrimental effects on individuals and on the economy.